The Evolution of My Blogs

Hello all!

I have been dreadful at keeping my blogs – stamp2stamp2.blogspot.com and andmorebags.blogspot.com uptodate for many reasons.  One key reason for this failure is that I found keeping 2 blogs, one dedicated to cards and other creations made from Angel Company products and one focusing on one of my ETSY stores, was just too time consuming.  As a result I posted very little to both.

Over the past few weeks I have been exploring options and setting a direction for myself.  After much noodling, I  decided to have a single blog devoted to all things creative!  Then the fun started!!

I started looking at the different blog services.  Should I stay with Blogspot or should I convert to a different one.  Three of my key requirements were:  1)  I wanted to be able to import my posts from my existing blogs, 2) I wanted good choices for my blog templates, and 3) I wanted an admin interface that was easy to understand and use with supporting documentation if I needed to dig into the details.

I first tried Typepad.  I was able to somewhat import my existing blogs.  I was able to import part, but not all, of my posts.  And I was never successful in importing my comments.  Typepad has a wide variety of templates within their product to use and there are a lot of free templates on the internet  that have been developed for Typepad too.  I did run into some challenges too when setting up the overall look and feel of my new blog.

I then went back to Blogspot, set up a new blog, and successfully imported both existing blogs – all posts and all comments.  Having worked with Blogspot for a few years, I was able to quickly set up the new blog.  I couldn’t though find a template that I was really happy with although I did find a couple that would be OK, just not great!

My final stop, obviously, is WordPress.  WordPress has a free service known as WordPress.com and a fee based service known as WordPress.org.  Right now I am using the free service and am finding that it is meeting my needs just fine.  It is meeting all 3 of my requirements.  1) I was able to quickly and successfully import both of my existing blogs.  Posts, comments, photos, and tags all came over very nicely.  2)  There is a wealth of templates with many different features within WordPress itself.  You can even select templates that meet certain criteria such as the number of columns, colors, sidebars, and more.  3) Other than the natural learning curve of working with a new product, I was able to navigate the admin setup tasks just fine.  I did have a couple of “challenges” in wanting to figure out how to do certain things.  I found that the supporting documentation that WordPress has compiled is excellent.  It answered all my questions.

So, welcome to my new blog – Rita’s Creative Nest.  And stay tuned for frequent updates!

One last parting thought:  The above is a summary of my experiences based on my requirements.  If you are converting a blog or even starting up a blog, start first by defining what you want from your blog.  All 3 of the services that I mentioned have pros and cons and all 3 are used extensively in the blogging world.  Based on your needs and requirements, select the service that is best for you!

Thanks for stopping by…

Rita

Today’s Abundance
-A new blog
-A new domain
-Renewed enthusiasm for blogging
-Blooming pink peonies
-Blooming yellow glads

2 Responses to The Evolution of My Blogs

  1. Toni says:

    I like the new blog Rita! And thanks for sharing your experiences… I’ve been thinking of switching to wordpress for my own (neglected) blog.

  2. Seleise says:

    good luck with the new blog, Rita! The look is great! I need to update you in my google reader!

Leave a Reply

